The EES Best Diploma / Masters Thesis Award

Search on EES

Date(s) - 26/10/2021 - 10/12/2021



The EES Best Diploma / Masters Thesis Award is a new initiative of the EES that will be awarded annually.[1] For its first iteration, the winner will be invited to attend the EES Conference 6-10 June 2022 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

The competition is intended for applicants who have completed a diploma / masters thesis on evaluation at any European higher education institution.

A jury will select the award winners based on the following eligibility (list 1) and evaluation criteria (list 2).

If you would like to apply, submit your application before the 10 December 2021 by e-mail to with the subject line “EES Best Diploma / Masters Thesis Award.” The winner is expected to be announced in March 2022.

The application must contain the following information and documents:

  • Name of the diploma thesis
  • Name of the author
  • Names of the supervisor(s) and the opponent(s)/ external examiners
  • Name of the university, research institute, or a higher education institution where was the diploma thesis supervised
  • The student submits the diploma thesis in the language of origin (pdf)
  • An abstract of the work between 800 and 1,100 words in English. We recommend the following structure of the abstract:
    • Background of the work
    • Question(s) to be answered
    • Data and methods
    • Results
    • Relevance of the work for the evaluation community


The first place: Two-year membership in the EES and free EES conference attendance (the winner will be informed immediately after the decision to be able to arrange her/his travel).

The second place: Two-year membership in the EES

The third place:  One-year membership in the EES

The jury reserves the right not to award a prize if none of the submitted diploma theses meets the eligibility criteria or achieves a very low score in evaluation criteria.

List 1: Eligibility criteria:

  • The diploma / thesis must relate to evaluation
  • The diploma / thesis must be supervised ata university, research institute, or a higher education institution in Europe[2]
  • Any diploma / thesis that has already taken part in the competition will not be eligible for a future award
  • The author can apply with the diploma / thesis no later than three years after the diploma / thesis’s defense

List 2: Evaluation criteria:

Evaluation of the applications is primarily aimed at meeting the following criteria:

  • The theme of the diploma work should clearly relate to evaluation
  • The theme should be relevant to current and anticipated themes of the evaluation community in Europe (including findings and conclusions)
  • The methods used should be appropriate, adequate, and well-used
  • The diploma / thesis should be based on existing or innovative theory, e.g.: does theoretical background support it?
  • The text of the diploma thesis should be readable
  • The text of the diploma thesis should be well-organized and structured

[1] The EES includes bachelor work, diploma work, and master thesis under the term diploma work, which we use throughout.

[2] Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, , Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Ukraine, Vatican