TWG 3 – Private Sector Evaluation

Search on EES

TWG Leader

TWG Leader

José Carbajo

Presentation of TWG

The Private Sector Evaluation thematic working group (TWG) was created in early 2013 as part of EES’s initiative to establish Thematic Working Groups. The evaluations of private sector initiatives are limited and scattered and they have yet to capture the evaluation mainstream.

The TWG unites professionals in active employment or retired, interested in the evaluation of private sector activities and working in the private sector or in other institutions within and beyond Europe.

With over 40 members currently and new members expected to join in 2020, the TWG promotes interest in evaluation within the multilateral development banks, the development finance institutions, the private sector, the auditing profession and academic think tanks. It examines what makes private sector evaluation different from evaluating public sector activities and serves as a learning platform for private sector methodologies, practices and processes.

The TWG also pays attention to a) internal accountability and learning mechanisms in place within private corporations including their use of the new information technologies, and b) environment, social, governance related impact expectations and assessments conducted by institutional investors and fund managers. Accordingly the TWG helps bring together evaluators, systems analysts and academics interested in assessing the merit, worth and value of private sector operations from a variety of evaluative perspectives.

 

Objectives of TWG

The Private Sector Evaluation TWG aims at advancing our understanding of the role, influence and impact of private sector activities on the development of society, the economy, and the environment. It strives to create a learning platform to share knowledge and experience regarding evaluation of private sector activities with three focus areas.

Impact investing

The assessment, monitoring and evaluation of private sector investments made by companies or organizations with the intent to contribute measurable positive social or environmental impact, alongside a financial return, to address global development challenges such as poverty, inclusion, and climate change.

Blended finance

The assessment, monitoring and evaluation of blended finance instruments, interventions and approaches that involve commercial capital and subsidized finance as a step towards fully market-based financing in support of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development Goals, looking at the private sector both as the financier and as the investee.

Fragile and Conflict Affected Situations

The assessment monitoring and evaluation of the role and impact of the private sector in fragile and conflict affected contexts characterized by difficult operating environments, higher costs of doing business, skills shortages, lack of rule of law, high levels of informality, and poor infrastructure and supply chains.

 

TWG Secretariat

Specific Contact Person in the EES Board

Bastiaan de Laat, b.de.laat-ext@orange.fr

List of TWG members (EES members in good standing)
Mariana Branco Former EES Board member mbranco@worldbank.org
José Carbajo Director, Financial, Private Sector and Sustainable Development Department – IEG , World Bank Group jcarbajo@worldbank.org
Vincent Coppens Director, Head of Evaluation Department – ADE Consulting & Advisory Services Vincent.Coppens@ade.eu
Unurjargal Demberel World Bank Group udemberel@ifc.org
Channa Gunawerdena channag@live.com
Kruno Karlovcec A member of AEA TIG on Social Impact Measurement kruno.karlovcec@gmail.com
Fredrik Korfker Former Chief Evaluator EBRD; development finance consultant/evaluator korfkerf@me.com
Luis Eduardo Lacerda luis.lacerda2@gmail.com
Nicolas Mathieu nmathieu129@gmail.com
Marialisa Motta World Bank Group rnarayanan1@ifc.org
Diliah Mutambara Based in Zimbabwe diliah.mutambara@gmail.com
Raghavan Narayanan World Bank Group rnarayanan1@ifc.org
Danielle Nel Lecturer: Department of Public Management and Governance daniellen@uj.ac.za
Bob Picciotto  Independent consultant and former Director-General IEG, World Bank Group and Board Member EES R.PICCIOTTO@JEUNOT.NET
Miguel BanezRebolledo Dellepiane miguelarebolledo@yahoo.com
Elsa de Morais Sarmento Lecturer, Economics, Management and Industrial Engineering Department, University of Aveiro, Portugal
Principal Evaluation Officer, African Development Bank
elsa.sarmento@gmail.com
Stephan Wegner World Bank Group swegner@worldbank.org
Lauren Weiss Independent Consultant lweiss@capacity.ca
Hans-Joachim Zilcken Project Development Adviser hans-joachim@zilcken.eu
Current Work Plan
In order to focus on key topics and subjects of relevance, the Private Sector Evaluation TWG operates under 3 thematic sub-groups:

Impact Investing

The assessment, monitoring and evaluation of private sector investments made by companies or organizations with the intent to contribute measurable positive social or environmental impact, alongside a financial return, to address global development challenges such as poverty, inclusion, and climate change

Blended Finance

The assessment, monitoring and evaluation of blended finance instruments, interventions and approaches that involve commercial capital and subsidized finance as a step towards fully market-based financing in support of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development Goals.

Fragile and Conflict Affected Situations

The assessment monitoring and evaluation of the role and impact of the private sector in fragile and conflict affected contexts characterized by difficult operating environments, higher costs of doing business, skills shortages, lack of rule of law, high levels of informality, and poor infrastructure and supply chains.

Resources to download

To be added soon…

Additional resources for TWG members only

To be added soon…