TWG 4 – Professionalisation of Evaluation

Search on EES

TWG Leader

TWG Leader

Martha McGuire

Presentation of TWG

Professionalism evokes expertise, credibility and concern for human welfare[1]. An occupational group cannot aspire to the professional label without public trust earned through ethical safeguards; proven capabilities; occupational self-management and credentials. To promote evaluation professionalism and to reach for excellence in evaluation practice this TWG aims to identify and promote collective actions needed within Europe and beyond. The challenge involves accelerating the harmonization of ethical, quality and capability standards, increasing the autonomy and independence of evaluators and helping to ensure that evaluators have the qualifications needed to perform quality work.

The ‘long march’ towards evaluation professionalization in Europe is well underway. There is still a long way to go and the EES thematic working group has contributed to progress along this road. TWG members recognize that evaluation has acquired distinctive characteristics as a discipline in its own right. It has developed a well-defined body of knowledge, a set of specialized skills and a host of ethical guidelines. It displays trans-disciplinary features that allow it to support all the social sciences through a well-stocked tool kit of proven methods and processes. Thankfully doctrinal conflicts that held back cohesive progress in the evaluation community have largely abated and evaluation associations are growing in number and influence.

In line with its mandate the Professionalization TWG has validated an evaluation capabilities framework and established a Voluntary Evaluator Peer Review. The capabilities framework lays out the knowledge, experience and dispositions required to do good evaluation work (EES Surveys). More information can be found at VEPR.

[1] Robert Picciotto, The logic of evaluation professionalism, Evaluation, 17(2) 165-180, April 2011

 

Objectives of TWG

The primary objective is to promote professionalization of evaluation within the EES.  In order to support this, the TWG4 2020 agenda is:

  •  Support implementation of the VEPR
  • Develop ethical guidelines
  • Develop a plan for evaluation training, first researching what is already available
  • Revive the mentorship program
  • Support website development
  • Contribute to planning of the EES 2021 conference

Specific Contact Person in the EES Board

Weronika Felcis weronika.felcis@gmail.com, Daniele Lamarque daniele.lamarque@orange.fr

List of TWG members (EES members in good standing)

 

Maria Bustelo
mbustelo@ucm.es
Luis Eduardo Lacerda
luis.lacerda2@gmail.com
Lauren Weiss
lweiss@capacity.ca
Ian C. Davies
idavies@capacity.ca
Daniele Lamarque
daniele.lamarque@orange.fr
Kate Winter
kate@katewinterevaluation.com 
Aida El-Khoury de Paula
akpaula@hotmail.com
Wolfgang Meyer
w.meyer@mx.uni-saarland.de
Weronika Felcis
weronika.felcis@gmail.com
Bob Picciotto
r.picciotto@jeunot.net
Dagmar Gombitova
dgombitova@gmail.com
Elsa de Morais Sarmento
elsa.sarmento@gmail.com
Channa Gunawrdena
channag@live.com
Fabrizio Tenna
fabrizio.tenna@gmail.com

 

Current Work Plan

To be added soon…

Additional resources for TWG members only
  • Minutes of Nov. 24, 2019 meeting
Other links
TWG4 VEPR Sub-Group

The Voluntary Evaluator Peer Review (VEPR) focuses on providing personalised professional development to evaluators, across all evaluation roles. It provides rigorous, confidential, non-judgmental peer support from highly experienced, senior evaluation practitioners.

More information can be obtained here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1zVJRBYRSm56OrpMupYLQgkK8nVTiIUVs/view